Live Laugh Love
 
He is forbidden. Not allowed. I should just get him out of my mind, out of my head. I can’t, I am too weak. His smile, changes my mood. I could be at the verge of suicidal thoughts, things get so bad, but then I catch a glimpse of his smile and realize everything will be alright. I try and convince myself. If only I could make him mine. But no! Daddy will not let me. I mean first of all he would have to notice me which is 99% impossible…

Let me catch you up on how things go around here. Elliot, the handsome guy with the killer smile? He is rich, so everything is handed to him and daddy told me since I was a little girl that I needed to work for what I wanted. He wants me to marry a good, humble boy, a farmer or someone who works for the city. Someone who is willing to help me. Not a “pretty boy.” So I am terrified to talk to him because I am afraid dad will kill me, literally. I just wish I could talk to him, and realize that what my dad says is true. To get him off of my mind…

July 14th is a date I will always remember, as long as I live. Daddy sent me out for milk because we needed it to finish preparing our dinner. He gave me exactly $3.12 because he did not want me to keep any money that I did not earn. I was walking past ReRead, the local magazine store, when an article caught my attention. “Are teens to stressed?” I obviously thought so, so I thought I would check out the article. It says homework stresses a child out 10x more than average. That got me thinking, so I mumble to myself.

“Ain’t that the truth. I am way too stressed over this crap.”

“I hear ya, if I never had another page of homework for the rest of my life, it would be too soon.” I tilted my head and was instantly attracted to his crystal blue eyes.

He said “my name is Elliot.” “I know” I interrupted. “Yeah!?” “I am Brittyn.” “Well Brittyn it is nice to meet you.”

Before I know it I had spent 15 minutes chatting with Elliot until I realized I needed to get milk to my daddy before he called the cops.

Just as I was heading out the door, Elliot grabbed my wrist and said “When can I see you again Brittyn?”

I stuttered in disbelief when he said that.

“Tomorrow before school? I will tell my dad I have to tutor a kid and I will get there 30 minutes before school? Can you be there?”

“Would not miss it for the world.” He smiled.

As I left the shop I almost forgot the milk with all of the butterflies in my stomach were fluttering so fast.

The next morning at school I seriously was so nervous to meet Elliot. He walked up spiffy as could be.

Our eyes met. Then we got a little closer together. I could smell his minty gum, and for a second it went black. Next thing I know our lips touched.






Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Write something about yourself. No need to be fancy, just an overview.

    Archives

    January 2014

    Categories

    All


Ashtyn's Blog