Live Laugh Love
 
The definition of a role model is a person looked to by others as an example to be imitated. Most of the time you think of people older than you. You look up to them, because you see them as perfect. You want your life to

be exactly like theirs so you can be just like them.

That is not always the case. Sometimes role models can be younger than you. They can go through things you never thought imaginable, but somehow through it all they still inspire you.

Never in my wildest dreams would I think that my little brother could be my role model. For 6 years, he was just my little annoying, funny, dramatic, loveable, goofball who i called Ryan.

Cancer is a very difficult situation to handle, for a person of any age. Try being a 6 year old, having cancer, that normally occurred in 40 year old men. No cures, no treatments, and  no answers, because your body is not finished developing, and the doctors did not know how the treatment they had, would affect you. Would you be scared? Would you worry? Maybe you would wish it on someone else, ya know? Wish that the gleo blastoma multiforme grade 4, a tumor the size of a golf ball, was in someone else's brain, rather than yours. Many people would have, but Ryan, he never did.

Ryan was a fighter. Not the literal fighter who would want to hurt you. I am pretty sure the only person Ryan ever wanted to hurt was me, but I asked for it. Sibling rivalry you could call it, but that was before all of this.

Ryan lost control of his left side when he had surgery to remove some of the brain tumor. To counteract with that he had to undergo PT and OT therapy. I remember that when he was almost done with an exercise, and the therapist said one more, Ryan always did two more. That kind of ambition made him stand out to his therapists. He also has rubbed off on me. When we are in the weight room, I try and do one more, but lets be honest, that does not always happen!

Even in times of  “crisis” Ryan was still his funny self. He was always curious about things. One day, he asked my Uncle Tim, “Why is there a feeding tube in my nose and a breathing tube in my throat? I don't eat through my nose!” And there you have it ladies and gentlemen. A 6 year old just questioned a chemist why doctors do what they do. That question made my uncle ponder. He admitted to Ryan, that he did not know that answer. That made Ryan laugh.

Another day, after one of Ryan’s surgeries. He thought he was blind! Looking back all I can do is laugh. He straight faced simply told my dad, he was blind. He said “daddy I’m blind!” My dad chuckled and said “no, your eyes are just swollen shut.” “Well can I see?!” he asked. Daddy said “well no” “THEN I”M BLIND!” Ryan freaked out!

I tell you these stories because Ryan never stopped being himself, during his battle with cancer. He stayed true to himself, and always helped out those who needed it. Ryan helped raise over 1 million dollars, for the Arkansas Children’s Hospital, and Ronald McDonald House. He always helped me when I needed it. And I know that everyday he helps me get through my obstacles.

You know the feeling when you get a hot flash that warms you up instantly but only lasts a few seconds, well the only thing that I could consider that to be is a hug from my guardian angel.

Role models, heroes, or inspirations. They all mean about the same thing. Someone who has changed your life. Some people may not understand your reasoning for admiring them, but it does not matter. A role model to me, may not matter to you. But the real question is, Who do you admire?






Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Write something about yourself. No need to be fancy, just an overview.

    Archives

    January 2014

    Categories

    All


Ashtyn's Blog